The Next 61

x4

So I’ve just bought another GX61,

This one is a bit of a step up from the blue sedan.

In my mind this is the ‘ultimate’ GX61, that and the F/L Chaser H/T.

It is an ’83 Corona Mark II Grande H/T in white obviously, 1983 saw a new look for these, being F/L was half the appeal in this one for me. Much bigger headlights, taillights, cool things like hide-away window wipers. Higher spec Grande makes for super lush interior, painted bumpers and overall it’s more P.I.M.P. And of course being the hardtop body shape was why I got it, best roofline from ’80s Japan, prove me wrong please! At a glance the H/T looks much the same as the sedan, but they don’t share a single panel! Too many variations of these things…

x3

The car is still half a country away from me, but I found the car on Street View lol.

x5

This is what the 14×10″s will be going on btw, will get 9″s to match shortly, also have 5-speed box and some mega low suss to go in.

x1

Here are the cellphone pics Robbie sent me when he found it a few weeks back, how could I say no? It wasn’t advertised for sale but we tried our luck with leaving a note under the wiper. Worked in my favour!

x2

I have paid for the car and recieved the ownership papers yesterday, but have still never seen it! We are flying up at the end of the month to get it so you’ll see more of it then.

Dear diary etc

xox, Zeb.

3 responses to “The Next 61

  1. kyteler July 24, 2009 at 10:27 AM

    Stoked that a little wipers note worked man, that’s epic buying powah!

  2. Banpei July 24, 2009 at 11:32 PM

    Congrats! :)
    Makes me think how many times I’ve found notes under my wipers and I never responded to them… Great catch!

Leave a Reply

